MY END OF SUMMER SANGRIA

Okay, I admit it. I’m in a state of denial. It can’t be that summer is nearly over. Now don’t get me entirely wrong. I actually love the autumn – adore it even – and in New England mother nature is known to put on a downright stunning display. No I don’t mind that hints of fall are in the air, it’s just that I’m not quite ready to give up the warmth.

Here the end of summer slyly whispers that winter is just a hop, skip and a jump away. It mocks me when I insist on still having my coffee outside in the mornings with an extra sweater and fuzzy socks on. No, I’m not the least bit chilly, I insist. Why ever d-d-do you ask?

I’m not listening to it taunting me with reminders of how cold and snowy it will be before I know it. No, no I can’t hear you…la la la LA LAAAAA. I’m completely impervious to the distant rattling of my snow shovel against the dark corner of the garage quivering with fear at the anticipation of it’s long job not far ahead.

But enough of this silly talk. Technically it’s still summer – at least for another day – and I’m prepared to milk it for all it’s worth. This is exactly why I have made a pitcher of my End-Of-Summer Sangria. It is my swan song for the waning of warm summer evenings dining au plein air, of steamy afternoons sipping tall icy glasses of the ruby nectar with sunglasses and a fine book. This is why I have in my fridge at this very moment a fresh, full pitcher of Sangria.

An easier quaff, you could not ask for:

In a two quart pitcher, pour with flourish:

  • 1 bottle light bodied red wine with good fruit notes (such as a Pinot or Cote du Rhone)
  • Pomegranate raspberry juice (anything red and fruity will work, i.e. cherry, blackberry…you get the idea)
  • 1 orange, sliced
  • 1 lemon, sliced
  • 2 ripe peaches, sliced (optional)
  • 1 cup brandy (or rum)
  • 1/2 c – 1 c sparkling water (to taste)
  • ice for the glasses – just a few cubes – too much will water it down

The great thing about Sangria is you can keep adding to it as you deplete the pitcher. Let’s say for some bizarre reason you do not finish off the whole pitcher at one sitting. You notice it is only half full (!). Do not panic. A bit more wine, a splash of juice, a tipple more of brandy and you’re good to go. Couldn’t be easier and a great boost to your optimism as you notice every time you open the fridge – there’s that magical pitcher of Sangria that is never ever empty! Things are looking up after all. Life really IS good! How lovely is that?

Savor a moment for yourself or grab friends and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “MY END OF SUMMER SANGRIA

  1. I too am having trouble letting go of summer. Your Sangria looks wonderful though -refreshing. Thanks for the printing tip, I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

