Whole Grain Bacon Pancakes – The Bacon Chronicles Part 3


The arrival of a new year heralds hope and excitement of a good – hopefully better – twelve months to come and, of course, resolutions.

I’ve got my list just like you probably do; eat healthier, exercise more, do more of the work we love and make more time for the ones we love. I’m also aiming for a better work/life balance, a dedicated studio space for myself and…this is the year I am going to jump out of a plane.

I should qualify that statement…that would be with a parachute.

Ever since my 21st birthday I’ve been wanting to do this. Every year I’d plan and dream, gather brochures and try to set aside money. Then one thing or another would prevent it, fear admitedly being high on the list. Over time it faded into the dusty back corners where all those ‘crazy’ ideas go to sober up and hopefully resurface later as something more sensible and practical.

Being older now – and I’d like to think wiser – I finally understand it’s the ‘crazy’ ideas that are the most worth following, yield the best memories and make us feel truly alive. Don’t worry, I haven’t thrown sensibility completely to the dogs, I’ve just learned to balance it with living life truly and fully with what thrills me and not to put off the good stuff!

So while I am indeed eating healthier and exercising more (so far) I am also making space for times of just for being lazy and unreservedly relishing scrumptious and decadent foods too. That said, it’s no surprise then, that this post has found it’s way back around to bacon. How do you like that for a segue?

I’ve always loved whole grain pancakes as opposed to buttermilk; I prefer the nutty flavour and texture (but this would be just as good with any kind of pancake). Adding just a pinch of salt brings out the flavours more, add warm maple syrup, butter, perhaps some sauteéd apples or peaches, and you’re looking at a perfect Sunday brunch.

This past Sunday, I decided instead of adding fruit, I’d add bacon. The flavour combination makes sense, don’t you agree? …sweet, salt, fat, mmmm…

WHOLE GRAIN BACON PANCAKES

makes about 6-8 pancakes

  • 1 cup whole grain flour (I suggest Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground 10 Grain Flour)
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • large pinch salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk or buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup (or more!) crispy chopped bacon (half in the batter, reserve half for serving)
  • bacon fat
  • butter and maple syrup for serving

Whisk together the eggs and milk and add to the dry ingredients, including about half the bacon. Stir until just incorporated but don’t over mix.

Warm a large, clean skillet and drop in a couple nuggets of bacon fat which you saved after frying up the bacon, right? Cook your pancakes and keep them warm while you prepare the maple-y bacon-y goodness to drizzle on top.

Into your pan  – on med/low heat – pop the rest of your chopped bacon, a healthy nut of butter and about a 1/2 cup of best quality Vermont maple syrup and just a tiny tipple of dark rum if you feel so inspired. Stir and cook just until it’s all warmed through, spoon generously over the stacks of pancakes and serve hot. I guarantee this will make you some damn good friends. That is if you’re up for sharing;)

Dig in and enjoy!

I wish you an exciting and exceptional 2012 – a year of dreams come true!

Leave a Reply

