PANETTONE FRENCH TOAST – Pain Perdu for Two

When I see signs of Christmas in the stores in early November panic sets in and words come out of my mouth involuntarily. Unladylike words such as holy crap and what the @#!%&! 

Frankly, I am just not equipped to think about it yet. I’m scarcely ready to start sidling toward Thanksgiving let alone the season of Tidings and Joy. I prefer to tackle one holiday at a time. However, there is one item that makes its appearance along with the dancing Santas and twinkly lights that I actually do like to see and that blessed thing is panettone.

I speak of the buttery, heavenly mound of egg bread studded with raisins and candied fruit bits that looks as if it was baked in a large coffee can. My number one favourite chilly morn treat is toasted slices of panettone dotted with nubs of melting butter and a good cappuccino. Coming in a very close second to that is panettone French toast, or pain perdu to the French.

FAQs:

Is this a little over the top? Yes.

Is it on my diet? I’m not going to lie to you – definitely not.

Can I lure people into doing my bidding by serving them this? Absolutely. But I’m counting on you to use your power for good.

When you’re feeling in a splurge-y kind of mood, I hope you’ll try this.  It has Sunday morning written all over it.

Panettone French Toast – Pain Perdue for Two

  • 2 generous 1/2″ to 3/4″ slices panettone cut in half
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp orange zest
  • 1 vanilla bean (split and scraped) or 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp Grand Marnier or Cointreau (optional)
  • pinch salt
  • dash cardamom
  • butter as needed
  • pure maple syrup and butter for serving

In a wide bowl whisk the eggs and milk well until the eggs are fully incorporated. Add in the zest, vanilla, liquor, salt and cardamom.

Warm a large saute pan or griddle on medium heat and grease lightly with butter.

Soak the slices on both sides until they have evenly absorbed the custard mixture but are not soggy and cook straight away on a gentle heat until deep golden on both sides and the custard is just set.

Serve on heated plates with butter and pure, warm maple syrup.

Savour every bite.

You won’t regret it.

One thought on “PANETTONE FRENCH TOAST – Pain Perdu for Two

Leave a Reply

